Week 1: From Here to There

More Than Enough Essentials Fall 2020 Week 1: From Here to There

Viewing 33 reply threads
  • Author
      amanda@cafo.org
      CAFO Staff

Why are you taking this course and what is your dream for foster care in your county?

amanda@cafo.org
      CAFO Staff

My name is Amanda Baird and I am helping to facilitate this course. I live in Oconee County, Georgia which is very close to the University of Georgia.  (although I went to Georgia Tech…)

One part of my dream for foster care in my county is for young adults attending one of the many schools in our area to find stable connections and support. I have a lot of dreams for children in care too, but this one section has been close to my heart here recently! My family is hoping to be partnered as a mentor family with a young adult soon.

Ryan Keith
      Participant

My name is Ryan Keith and I’m a pastor near Harrisburg, PA, with a nearby river dividing races and creating economic divisions. Churches are asking for help, but we are not a region known for collaboration. I am taking this course for accountability to get going on a goal to partner with churches across 2 sides of the same river and catalyze a regional foster care crisis response.

My dream is to strengthen bio families through Safe Families & other partners, respond to foster care rise through foster parents, and build sustaining support through support teams to more than meet the need. By doing so, we display the Gospel and declare what God is for at a time where He is increasingly only known for what He is against, while engaging in something our children and youth services, judicial system, and foster agencies say cannot be done due to the rapid rise of opioids in our region. MTE offers a framework to get us started and I want to get going in bringing that framework of collaboration to our region.

amanda@cafo.org
        CAFO Staff